13th General Assembly (Singapore, 2018)

The 13th ASEAN Law Association General Assembly and The ASEAN Law Conference 2018 was held from 25 to 28 July 2018 at the Raffles City Convention Centre, Singapore.

The General Assembly and Conference was attended by representatives from all 10 ASEAN countries – Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. Apart from the Heads of Delegation of the ALA National Chapters of each of the ASEAN countries, the General Assembly and Conference was also graced by the ASEAN Deputy Secretary-General Dr AKP Mochtan representing the ASEAN Secretary-General, and Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea of the Philippines.

Singapore’s Minister for Finance Mr Heng Swee Keat gave the Keynote Address at the Opening Ceremony. The ALA President, the Honourable Attorney Avelino Cruz chaired the proceedings with the theme “The Power of ONE: Unlocking Opportunities in ASEAN through Law”.

At the conclusion of the General Assembly, Chief Justice Sundaresh Menon of Singapore was unanimously elected as President of the ASEAN Law Association, and Mr Paul Quan of Singapore was elected Secretary-General.


Keynote Speeches

Conference Papers and Materials

Rapporteur-General’s Report

The ASEAN Law Conference 2018 Compendium


Copyright 2004-2019 ASEAN Law Association. Terms and Conditions.