President | Vice-Presidents | Secretary-General | Past Presidents
Past Vice-Presidents | Past Secretaries-General | National Committees


Senator Edgardo J Angara

Senator Edgardo Angara Senator Edgardo J Angara was elected President at the First General Assembly in Manila. An educator, legislator, banker, corporate lawyer, art patron and weekend farmer, Senator Angara served as the first President of ALA from 1980 to 1982.

Senator Angara graduated with a Bachelor of Laws from the University of the Philippines and a Master of Laws from the University of Michigan.

Senator Angara was a founding partner of ACCRALAW. After acting as President of the University of the Philippines from 1981 to 1987, he ran for Senate. There, Senator Angara served as a member of Senate from 1987 to 1998 with a stint as Senate President from 1993 to 1995. During his terms, he was responsible for the passage of 100 economic measures, including the creation of the new Philippine Central Bank and incentives for foreign investors. He passed laws in the fields of education, health, the arts and agriculture.

After leaving Senate in 1998, Senator Angara became Secretary of Agriculture. He also served as Chairman of the Philippine National Bank until he became Executive Secretary of the President’s Cabinet in 2001. Senator Angara returned to the Senate for two terms from 2001 to 2013, making him the longest-serving senator since the EDSA Revolution.

Sadly, Senator Angara passed away at his home in Tagaytay City, Philippines, on 13 May 2018. Until his passing, he had continued to hold office at ACCRALAW, and had even founded a museum devoted to the Philippines’ seafaring past, the Museo Del Galeon.

Copyright 2004-2018 ASEAN Law Association. Terms and Conditions.