The 32nd Governing Council Meeting was held on 20th February 2010 in the Makati Shangri-La Hotel in Manila, the Philippines.  The Meeting was attended by delegates from the National Committees of Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam. 

The Meeting considered the papers entitled “ASEAN Charter: Dispute Settlement Mechanisms” and “Proposed ASEAN Protocol on Enforcement of Arbitral Awards” that had been tabled for discussion.  The Meeting decided by consensus to refer these papers to the working group known as the ALA Task Force (established during the 31st Governing Council Meeting held in Hanoi) for further deliberation.  The Meeting also agreed that the next Governing Council Meeting would be held in Pattaya, Thailand in 2011.  Due to time constraints, the meetings of the 7 ALA Standing Committees were deferred to the next Governing Council Meeting. 

As this Meeting coincided with the 30th anniversary of the founding of ALA, several initiatives and activities took place in conjunction with the Meeting.  The ASEAN Law Firms Directory was launched with the support of the Governing Council, which also agreed that any revenue derived from maintaining this Directory may be used to maintain the ALA Website.  ALA Philippines also published and distributed to all delegates a special commemorative publication entitled “ALA at 30 for ASEAN Unity”. 

In addition, delegates were invited to attend the Chief Justice Reynato S. Puno Third Distinguished Lecture on “The ASEAN Charter” on 19th February 2010, which was organised by ALA Philippines jointly with the Supreme Court of the Philippines and the Philippine Judicial Academy.  The Lecture was delivered by Ambassador Rosario Gonzalez-Manalo, Senior Foreign Service Adviser to the Secretary of Foreign Affairs of the Philippines, who had also chaired the High Level Task Force to draft the ASEAN Charter (2007).  The Lecture was followed by responses from 2 International Reactors, namely, the Deputy Solicitor-General of Singapore Jeffrey Chan Wah Teck S. C. and the Head of Delegation of the European Commission to the Philippines HE Alistair Bell MacDonald. 

The Meeting concluded with the ALA 30th Anniversary Gala Dinner on 20th February 2010, hosted by ALA Philippines and the Philippine National Committee.  The Guest of Honor at this Gala Dinner was Senator Edgardo J. Angara, the first ALA President, who delivered a speech entitled “The ASEAN Way To Integration”. 


Copyright 2004-2015 ASEAN Law Association. Terms and Conditions.