Past Tournaments

Tan Son Nhat Golf Club
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
31 March 2016

The 13th ALA Championship Golf Tournament was held in the morning of 31 March 2016 at the Tan Son Nhat Golf Club in Ho Chi Minh City before the 4th ASEAN Chief Justices’ Meeting and the 38th ALA Governing Council meeting.

The tournament saw 99 participants from Indonesia (42), Malaysia (22), Philippines (8), Singapore (12), and host Vietnam (15).

The weather was excellent which enabled the golfers to focus on doing battle with the length of the course and the speed of the greens.  Although the golf course was challenging, with generous bunkers and water hazards, the golfers enjoyed the friendly competition on the immaculately maintained golf course.

The prize presentation was held during the sumptuous lunch after the game, and the following were some notable winners:

Mens Regular Stableford (Ages 60 & below)
A Division – Kunaselan from Malaysia
B Division – Suyatno Arjosentono from Indonesia
C Division – Chong Kah Wei from Singapore

Mens Senior Stableford (Ages 61-65)
A Division – Lee Seng Wai from Malaysia
B Division – Pham Tuấn Khải from Vietnam

Mens Super Senior Stableford (Ages 66 & above)
Fritz John Polnaja from Indonesia

Ladies Stableford
Lim Siew Kuan from Singapore

The Challenge Trophy for Mens Best Gross was won by Kunaselan from Malaysia who returned with a gross score of 79, whilst the Challenge Trophy for Ladies Best Gross was won by Lim Siew Kuan from Singapore.

Malaysia won the Tun Dzaiddin Challenge Trophy for the team competition with a combined team score of 188 stableford points.

History was made as not just one, but two, holes-in-one were scored at the tournament, by Mr Anand Nalachandran from Singapore and Mr Bừi Mạnh Toản from Vietnam.

The next ALA Championship Golf Tournament will be held in Brunei Darussalam in conjunction with the 39th Governing Council meeting.


Copyright 2004-2017 ASEAN Law Association. Terms and Conditions.