Past Tournaments

Raffles Country Club
23 August 2013

Golf Singapore 2013

The 10th ALA Championship Golf Tournament was held in the morning of 23 August 2013 at the scenic Lake Course of Raffles Country Club in Singapore.

Designed to blend in with the natural environment, the Robert Trent Jones II designed course offered spectacular views of the Tengeh reservoir and adjacent jungle environment. With water in play on most of the fairways and the signature par-3 16th hole featuring water on 3 sides of the green, the course provided a nerve-wracking test of accuracy for the ALA golfers.

The tournament saw some 80 participants from Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines and Thailand, with the remaining 55 participants from host country Singapore. The overwhelming support from our ASEAN friends for this tournament was underscored by the participation of Chief Justice Hatta Ali of Indonesia (and President of ALA) and Chief Justice Arifin Zakaria of Malaysia.

After registration and a hearty breakfast at the club house, all the golfers proceeded for a group photo taking before making their way to the respective tee boxes in their golf buggies. Chief Justice Hatta Ali, President of ALA, kick-started the tournament with the opening tee shot, and this was followed by the shot gun siren at 7.40am and the tournament began in earnest.

Amidst fair and sunny weather, the golfers took on the challenges of the course in a warm spirit of friendly competition based on a modified system 36 stableford format. The game ended at about 1.00pm and was followed by a generous buffet lunch at the clubhouse. The prize presentation for individual winners was held during the post-golf lunch, and the following were some of the notable winners:

Mens Senior Stableford Sofyan Amir Sitompul (IDN) 37 pts (10 hcp)
Mens Open Stableford Leon Koh (SGP) 37 pts (6 hcp)
Ladies Stableford Chan Lai Foong (SGP) 30 pts (20 hcp)

Challenge Trophy for Mens Best Gross Leon Koh (SGP) 77 gross
Challenge Trophy for Ladies Best Gross Lim Siew Kuan (SGP) 97 gross

The prize presentation for the team competition was held later that evening at the Welcome Reception for delegates to the 35th ALA Governing Council meeting which was held at the Flower Dome of the Gardens by the Bay. Indonesia won the Tun Dzaiddin Challenge Trophy for the team event convincingly with 181 points, with Malaysia as runner up and Singapore in third place, both with 170 points.

Copyright 2004-2015 ASEAN Law Association. Terms and Conditions.