Past Tournaments

Le Meridien Nirwana Golf Club
Bali, Indonesia
November 2004

On 28 November 2004, the ASEAN Law Association (ALA) Golfers Club held its annual golf tournament at the Nirwana Bali Golf Club on the island of Bali, Indonesia.  The tournament saw participation by golfers from Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines and Singapore.

On the evening prior to the tournament, the Indonesian hosts welcomed participants at a generous welcome buffet dinner held at the Le Meridien Nirwana Golf & Spa Resort.  The welcome dinner was attended by H Soeharto, the chairman of the Organising Committee and retired Deputy Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Indonesia, and by Deputy Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Indonesia, the Honourable Abdul Kadir Mappong. Talented singing teams comprising of Indonesian judges and lawyers led the other delegations in the traditional ALA after-dinner entertainment.  Supreme Court Justice Panganiban from the Philippines also made a presentation on a proposed Judicial Reform showcase to be held in conjunction with the ALA 25th anniversary celebrations.

After the enjoyable round of golf at the beautiful Nirwana course, all the participants attended a farewell dinner cum prize presentation at the official residence of the Governor of Bali province in Denpasar.  The farewell dinner was graced by the presence of the Vice-Governor of Bali Province. Also present were retired Deputy Chief Justice H Soeharto, Deputy Chief Justice Abdul Kadir Mappong, ALA Golf Captain Justice Dato’ James Foong, Malaysian ALA President Dato’ Haji Hashim bin Dato’ Haji Yusoff, Chairman ALA Philippines Atty Avelino V Cruz, Singapore Supreme Court Justice Lai Kew Chai  and former President ALA, TPB Menon.  Malaysia emerged the team champion yet again, and retained the team trophy.  Singapore’s Solicitor-General Lee Seiu Kin, who is also Vice-Chairman of ALA (Singapore), emerged as the individual champion.

Performance by ALA Indonesia Organising Committee at welcome dinner.

Justice James Foong presenting H Soeharto with a token of thanks for organising the tournament.

Copyright 2004-2015 ASEAN Law Association. Terms and Conditions.