Past Tournaments

Sungai Long Golf & Country Club
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
19 September 2014

Golf Singapore 2013

The 11th ALA Championship Golf Tournament was held in the morning of 19th September 2014 at the Sungai Long Golf & Country Club, which was Malaysia’s first international championship golf course.

The 18-hole golf course was the first international championship golf course in Malaysia designed by golf master Jack Nicklaus in 1992. In 2013 it underwent major renovation including the upgrading of the entire golf course with TifEagle-Bermuda grass for the greens, Tifdwarf for the tee boxes and Tifway 419 for the fairways, guaranteed to enhance the challenge for a magnificent round of golf.

The tournament was well attended by about 100 golfers from Malaysia, Indonesia, Singapore, Philippines and Thailand. There was overwhelming support from the Judiciary of Indonesia and Malaysia with the participation of about 13 judges from Malaysia including the Chief Justice of the Federal Court of Malaysia Tun Arifin Zakaria and the Chief Judge of Malaya Tan Sri Dato’ Seri Zulkefli Ahmad Makinudin.

Indonesia was headed by Chief Justice Bapak Hatta Ali also the President of ALA and fielded a 36-strong team featuring Justices and Judges from all corners of Indonesia.

The tournament began in earnest at about 8.30 am after a hearty breakfast with the priority flight comprising the host Chief Justice Tun Arifin Zakaria together with Chief Justice Hatta Ali, Justice Presbitero J Velasco Jr of Philippines and Justice Lee Seiu Kin of Singapore teeing off from the 1st tee-box.

The weather was kind to the golfers but not the length of the course or the speed of the greens that were undulating and difficult to read. The water hazards and the bunkers formed a formidable force to be reckoned with. Be that as it may, the golfers thoroughly enjoyed the fun and the sun and after completing the gruelling 18 holes sat down for a sumptuous lunch at the club house.

The competition for both team and individual was based on system 36 stableford format. Prize presentation for the individual event was held during the luncheon and the following were some notable winners:-

Mens Open Stableford — Bapak Edward Harris Sinaga from Indonesia
Mens Senior Stableford — Dalgit Singh from Malaysia
Ladies Stableford — Chan Lai Fong from Singapore

The Challenge Trophy for Mens Best Gross was won by Dalgit Singh of Malaysia who returned with a gross score of 82, whilst the Challenge Trophy for Ladies Best Gross was won by Chan Lai Foong of Singapore.

The prize presentation for the team event was held in the evening at the Welcome Reception for the Governing Council delegates of the 36th ALA Governing Council Meeting which was held at the Atrium of the Royale Chulan Hotel, Kuala Lumpur.

The host nation Malaysia won the Tun Dzaiddin Challange Trophy with 182 stableford points. Indonesia the defending champion was a close second with 181 points, whilst Philippines was third with 174 stableford points.

The organising committee extends its heartfelt thanks and gratitude to all the golf convenors of the respective teams, the players, the sponsors and the club management.

Like what Bob Ryan said the game of golf is a passion, an obsession, a romance, a nice acquaintanceship with trees, sand and water.

We shall also renew our acquaintanceship with the fellow ALA golfers on 25 February 2015 at Manila, Philippines. Till then Happy Golfing!

K. Puspalingam
11th ALA Championship Golf Tournament

Copyright 2004-2015 ASEAN Law Association. Terms and Conditions.