Past Tournaments

Palm Resort Golf & Country Club
Johor, Malaysia
27 October 2007

The 5th ALA Golf Tournament was held on 27 October 2007 at the Allamanda course of the Palm Resort Golf & Country Club in Senai, Johor, Malaysia.  The resort boasts three 18-hole championship golf courses, and is located within close proximity of Senai Airport and the city of Johor Baru.   Palm Resort was voted the 10th Best Golf Course as well as 2nd Best Golf Course in Malaysia by Golf Malaysia Magazine for 2005/2006. Named after a yellow flower, the well-established Allamanda course presents a real challenge with extensive landscaping and water in play on 11 holes, and was voted the third best course in Malaysia in 1999.

On the evening before the tournament, ALA Malaysia hosted a welcome reception at the Sunset Lounge at Palm Resort.  The ALA golfers caught up with old friends and made new ones, amid warm camaraderie. 

The day of the tournament saw excellent conditions – good, sunny weather and fast greens.  Participants from five ASEAN countries including a strong contingent from host Malaysia took to the fairways in a competition under a System 36 Stableford format.  Foreign and local dignitaries that participated in the tournament included retired Chief Justice Artemio V Panganiban of the Philippines, Deputy Chief Justice Abdul Kadir Mappong of Indonesia and Justices Andar Purba and Imam Soebechi of Indonesia.  Prominent ALA office holders participating included Federal Court Justice Dato’ Haji Hashim bin Dato’ Haji Yusoff (Chairman ALA Malaysia), Justice Lee Seiu Kin (Chairman ALA Singapore), Atty Avelino V Cruz (Chairman, ALA Philippines), Justice Dato’ James Foong of the Malaysian Court of Appeal (ALA Golf Captain), Atty Salvador C Medialdea (Secretary-General of the ALA Golf Chapter) and Mr Charles Lim (past ALA Secretary-General).  

The Johor State Government generously hosted a gala dinner and prize presentation at the Grand Ballroom of the Sofitel Palm Resort following the Tournament.  Justice Andar Purba of Indonesia emerged the winner in the Veteran Division with 37 stableford points, whilst retired Chief Justice Artemio Panganiban of the Philippines came in third.  Bp Denny Kailimang of Indonesia won the Senior Division with 37 stableford points, whilst Mr P. Param of Malaysia won the Junior Division with 39 stableford points.  In the Ladies Division, Ibu Andar Purba of Indonesia emerged victorious with 36 stableford points.

Mr Leslie Looi of Malaysia won the best gross score prize with a gross score of 80 on the par 72 course.  He was also nearest the pin on the 17th hole, hitting it to 10 inches.  Mr Puspalingam of Malaysia won the prize for longest drive, whilst retired Chief Justice Panganiban won the prize for nearest the line by landing his tee shot on the line.  Host Malaysia emerged the team champion, and regained the Tun Dzaiddin Challenge trophy with 186 stableford points from her top 5 players.

Copyright 2004-2015 ASEAN Law Association. Terms and Conditions.