Past Tournaments

Empire Golf & Country Club
Jerudong, Brunei Darussalam

Date: Friday 10th April 2009
Venue: The Empire Golf & Country Club, Jerudong, Brunei Darussalam
Time: 6.45am (shot-gun tee off)
Format of play: Stableford System 36

The night prior to the championship, in the midst of the ALA Brunei Darussalam Golf Committee final logistical preparations, it was revealed then that the weather forecast for the championship day would be bright and sunny.  Surely enough the day began with promising prospects of shooting low scores as everyone appeared to be geared up for a fantastic challenge at the one and only Jack Nicklaus designed golf course in Brunei Darussalam.

Upon overcoming the logistical aspects of registration, the well adequate breakfast, and of course last but not least, the group photo session, all participants moved on to their respective shot-gun holes whilst the siren to indicate start of play marked a milestone chapter in our effort to host a tournament of such magnitude. A total of 68 participant golfers registered, with myself included in the field line-up, all with one main purpose – to play respectably well for glory of winning the Tun Dzaiddin Challenge Trophy. 

Personally, I cannot say that I had played well enough to earn that top 5 spot for each participating member countries. Nevertheless, I am assured with the caliber of golfers that we had to get the job done, or at least I hope!

The conditions were fairly windy with scorching heat all around. The input from other players I got, as we crossed path, were mixed indications of either game played well or not at all.  I can surely relate to the latter!

As the game came to a close, with the necessary steps of signing the scorecards and subsequently handing them over to the tournament committee, I was at least consoled with the lunch that was provided within the hotel main lobby. It was later that the tournament committee of The Empire Golf Club revealed the final published results. Notable amongst the individual prize winners were Chief Justice Reynato Puno of the Philippines and ALA golf stalwart Mr Puspalingam of Malaysia who emerged winners of the D Division and the A Division respectively. Mr Mark Tan of Singapore captured the lowest gross score prize with a gross score of 77. 

The team result was favourable to us, the host country as we won the Tun Dzaiddin Challenge Trophy with 4 clear points over Philippines, whilst Singapore came in third.  It was a result that we as host country of 2009 Championship surely took pride in.  And we shall indeed be looking forward to defending the challenge trophy the following year.  See you all again in the 2010 ALA Golf Championship!

By – Afif Daraina Badaruddin (Brunei Darussalam)

Copyright 2004-2015 ASEAN Law Association. Terms and Conditions.